Utility Bill Assistance



Low Income Energy Assistance Program in Missouri

The Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP) in Missouri is available for winter heating bills. While not as common, from time to time assistance can be provided during the summer for cooling/air conditioning bills too. The summer component is usually only offered for those who are most at risk.

There are two main parts to the Missouri program. For those who are facing an emergency or disconnection, the Energy Crisis Intervention Program may be able to assist. Other low income families can apply for the standard Energy Assistance component.

Families who are interested in getting more information or applying need to contact their Community Action Agency in Missouri. For winter aid, applications are accepted from October through March. Seniors and disabled can sometimes apply even earlier, such as September. Low income seniors, families with children, and the disabled are given priority in Missouri.

Grant money and funds are disbursed on a first come, first serve basis to those who qualify. So do not wait to apply to the Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program. If you are facing a crisis or disconnection, those application and funds are expedited.

After applying, the exact amount of cash assistance, vouchers, and benefits paid out will vary. The federal government, which provides the money to the state of Missouri and the community action agency, will take into consideration the type and price of fuel used by the applicant, their household size, and of course total income.

Both renters and homeowners can apply for utility bill assistance from LIHEAP. Families that live in public or government housing in Missouri can also be qualified, if they meet the typical income levels.




Where to apply for LIHEAP assistance in Missouri

Central Missouri Community Action (CMCA), 807B North Providence Road, Columbia, Missouri 65203-4359 phone (573) 443-8706. This location helps people in the counties of Audrain, Boone, Callaway, Cole, Cooper, Howard, Moniteau, and Osage

Community Action Agency of St. Louis County (CAASTLC), 2709 Woodson Road, St. Louis, MO 63114, dial (314) 863-0015. St. Louis County residents can apply for LIHEAP here.

Community Action Partnership of St. Joseph (CAPSJOE), 817 Monterey Street, St. Joseph, Missouri 64503-3068. Call (816) 233-8281. Services are for Andrew, Buchanan, Clinton, and Dekalb.

Community Services, Inc. of Northwest Missouri (CSI), 1212B South Main, Maryville, MO 64468. Call (660) 582-3113. Atchison, Gentry, Holt, Nodaway, Worth counties are served.

Delta Area Economic Opportunity Corporation (DAEOC), 99 Skyview Road, Portageville, Missouri 63873, phone number is (573) 379-3851. Covers counties of Dunklin, Mississippi, New Madrid, Pemiscot, Scott, and Stoddard.

East Missouri Action Agency (EMAA), address is 107 Industrial Drive, Park Hills, MO 63601. Phone number: (573) 431-5191. Bollinger, Cape Girardeau, Iron, Madison, Perry, St. Francois, Ste. Genevieve, and Washington. Call this non-profit for the Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP).

Economic Security Corporation of the Southwest Area (ESC) operates from an office at 302 South Joplin Street, Joplin, MO 64802-0207. Call (417) 781-0352. This community action agency is for Barton, Jasper, McDonald, and Newton County.

Green Hills Community Action Agency (GHCAA). Address is 1506 Oklahoma Avenue, Trenton, MO 64683-0278. Call (660) 359-3907. Low income residents of Caldwell, Daviess, Grundy, Harrison, Linn, Livingston, Mercer, Putnam, Sullivan, Carroll, and Ray can apply for utility bill assistance here.

Jefferson-Franklin Community Action Corporation (JFCAC), #2 Merchant Dr., Hillsboro, Missouri 63050. Phone number is (636) 789-2686. Counties of Franklin and Jefferson are supported.

Missouri Ozarks Community Action, Inc. (MOCA), 306 South Pine Street, Richland, MO 65556, telephone (573) 765-3263. Residents of Camden, Crawford, Gasconade, Laclede, Maries, Miller, Phelps, and Pulaski can apply here.

Missouri Valley Community Action Agency (MVCAA), 1415 South Odell, Marshall, MO 65340-0550. Call (660) 886-7476. Missouri counties of Carroll, Chariton, Johnson, Lafayette, Pettis, Ray, and Saline are covered.

North East Community Action Corporation (NECAC), 16 North Court Street, Bowling Green, MO 63334-0470. Phone (573) 324-2231. Lewis, Lincoln, Macon, Marion, Monroe, Montgomery, Pike, Ralls, Randolph, Shelby, St. Charles, Warren

Northeast Missouri Community Action Agency (NMCAA) 215 N. Elson St., Kirksville, Missouri 63501. Telephone (660) 665-9855. Services counties of Adair, Clark, Know, Scotland, and Schuyler.

Ozark Action, Inc. (OAI), 710 East Main, West Plains, MO 65775. Call (417) 256-6147. Low income families of Douglas, Howell, Oregon, Ozark, Texas, and Wright can learn about LIHEAP.

Ozarks Area Community Action Corporation (OACAC), 215 South Barnes, Springfield, Missouri 65802-2204. Dial (417) 862-4314. Supports regions of Barry, Christian, Dade, Dallas, Greene, Lawrence, Polk, Stone, Taney, and Webster Missouri.

South Central Missouri Community Action Agency (SCMCAA), Old Alton Road, Winona, MO 65588-0006. Phone (573) 325-4255. If you live in Butler, Carter, Dent, Reynolds, Ripley, Shannon, or Wayne, call this agency.

United Services Community Action Agency (USCAA) runs LIHEAP. They are located at 6323 Manchester, Kansas City, MO 64133-4717. Dial (816) 358-6868. Residents of Clay, Jackson, and Platte can apply for help.

West Central Missouri Community Action Agency (WCMCAA), 106 West 4th Street, Appleton City, Missouri 64724-0125. Dial (660) 476-2185. The federal government LIHEAP program is offered for people in Bates, Benton, Cass, Cedar, Henry, Hickory, Morgan, St. Clair, and Vernon